Spilling with glitz, glamour, and well-renowned industry giants, the Welsh Pharmacy Awards once again made its mark on the sector last Thursday evening.

Providing a platform for healthcare professionals to showcase their work and honour their fellow peers, over 330 attendees flocked to the scenic surroundings of The Vale Resort, Glamorgan, including the new Health Secretary, Vaughan Gething, who took to the stage for a stirring speech in one of the first appearances since his appointment.

Addressing the ‘uncertain time for community pharmacy practices’, Minister Gething served to reassure the ‘health assets’ that they have a ‘significant role’ in the government’s future plans.

The event was masterminded by publishing specialists MEDCOM – responsible for UK-wide healthcare and pharmacy magazines – while seamlessly steering the proceedings to success was Presenter and Journalist, Andrea Byrne.

In addition to the hotly-contested 10 awards up for grabs among the worthy finalists, the Lifetime Achievement accolade was presented to an astounded Howard Rowe, recently retired Clinical Director for Medicines Management in Cwm Taf.


Winners in Full


Asthma Project of the Year, sponsored by Napp Pharmaceuticals Limited

Winner: Andy Evans, JDS Evans Pharmacy, Newport


Pre-registration Pharmacist of the Year, sponsored by WCPPE & WEDS

Joint winners: Jonathan Harris, Morriston Hospital, ABMUHB and Suji Begum, University Hospital Wales, Cardiff & Vale UHB


Pharmaceutical Excellence within the Care Home Setting

Winner: Jonathan Smith, Mayberry Pharmacy, Newport


Business Development of the Year Independent, sponsored by AAH Pharmaceuticals

Winner: Robert Cousins, Insync Healthcare Pharmacy, Llanishen


Pharmacy Manager of the Year, sponsored by MEDCOM

Winner: Sally Lloyd, Morrisons Pharmacy, Saltney


Independent Pharmacy Practice of the Year, sponsored by Teva UK

Winner: Gareth Hughes & Rob Jaynes, Sheppards Pharmacy, Abercwmboi


Student Leadership Award, sponsored by the Pharmacists’ Defence Association

Winner: William Northwood, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Cardiff University


Delivery of Pharmaceutical Care, sponsored by Consilient Health

Winner: Mayberry Pharmacy Team, Blackwood


Hospital Pharmacy Team of the Year, sponsored by Pharmacy Life

Winner: Angela Kervin, Owain Brooks and the South West Renal Medicines Service Team


Pharmacist of the Year Independent, sponsored by Cambrian Alliance

Winner: Ian Jenkins, Davies Chemist, Ystalyfera


Lifetime Achievement,            sponsored by Actavis UK

Howard Rowe, recently retired, Clinical Director for Medicines Management in Cwm Taf


For more information about MEDCOM’s events and how you can get involved, visit www.medcom.uk.com.